Welcome to the community
Simply ask, learn and share
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Dodgy billing using online.

posted by fendertele | A year ago

So i have only just noticed that my balances have been my actual readings and estimates added together and i have been paying this for the last 2/3 years, why is the system doing this ?

Take a look at the attachment..... scottish power submits an estimate of £28.78 and the balance on the side is updated from zero to £28.78 in debt, the very next day i provide a real reading and it calculates the actual bill at £20.60 meaning they over estimated by 8 pounds no biggy.... but the balance is then not updated to £20.60 but the real and estimate added together putting me £49.38 in debit! and so when i put in my next meter reading it adds it on to the £49.38.

I have seen similar posts without the proof posted, and people trying to explain it by saying it's the extra that they actually used on top of the estimate and all sorts of silly ideas.... there is no way i used 20 pound overnight so we can forget that explanation..... it is clear that the estimate was not removed from the current balance total and instead added on to the actual reading....

So why hasn't this been fixed looking at my bills this has been going on for aslong as i have been with scottish power... surely it is happening to everyone ? or is it just some accounts having this issue on their account online ?

4 comments

posted by Davc | A year ago
Re: Dodgy billing using online.
Hi Fender, this comes up a lot, the estimate is a guess of your reading so if it was £20 too low then after your actual reading the bill will jump £20 higher. You did not use £20 overnight, but the estimate was wrong. In these cases the estimate and actuals are added together; they do not work by ignoring the estimate.
If your actual reading had been lower than the estimate, then you would have money taken off the estimated bill.
Highlighted