Welcome to the community
Simply ask, learn and share
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Out of hours "emergency". How so I get through to someone?

posted by Matt1 | A week ago

I moved into my current house in July (rented) and switched to Scottish Power from EDF.  With the autumnal drop in temperature it was time to put the heating on.  We have night storage heaters so I switched them on and awaited the economy 7 hours to kick in and do their thing.  Nothing happened, so the following night I set an early alarm and pressed the 'test' on the fuse board during eco 7 and it didn't trip.  I'm no expert but I presumed that meant nothing was coming through said board.

I called Scottish Power but they wouldn't do anything until an electrician confirmed it was a meter issue. My landlord got his electrician to have a look and he said it did look like a meter issue and a 'heating contactor' had been fitted to the meter since he last looked at it.

I called customer support and gave them an update, sat on hold for nearly an hour whilst the chap on the phone filled out forms and made calls to engineers etc and then said "Okay someone will be with you in 3-4 hours".... I had to tell him I was at work so would never make it home in time. He went on to tell me that if I make a call then it has to be resolved there and then and I'd need to call back at a time when I know I'll be at home for at least the next 3-4 hours. Easier said than done at the moment!  I work full-time and will be going away next week on holiday. I do, however, have my brother staying here to look after the cat.