Welcome to the community
Simply ask, learn and share
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Automatic change of Direct Debit payment

posted by ValeriaV | A month ago
Hi, it is my first time that I write here. Could I ask why I found a different amount of payment in my Direct Debit. I have a fixed price for 2 years but today when I submitting my reader meter I found a different charge. Thank you
5 comments

posted by Davc | A month ago
Re: Automatic change of Direct Debit payment

@ValeriaV   Hello, the fixed price deal you have fixes the cost per unit , but your bills will go up and down depending how many units you have actually used. It is like filling your car when the price per litre is fixed, but what you pay depends on how many litres you buy.  Also your direct debit is worked out to give you enough money in your account to carry you through the expensive winter months, so it can be high in summer when you might think it should be lower. 

posted by Jonnel | A month ago

@ValeriaV Scottish Power work out what they want your direct debit to be based on what they think your total usage will be over the entire year. Then they adjust your monthly payment accordingly so you're always in a healthy credit with them rather than a debit.

If you'd prefer to pay for what you've used, rather than what SP think you're going to use, you can switch to quarterly billing. Some people just transfer £100 or so from their bank current account into another bank account of their own each month, then pay the quarterly bill from that when it comes in. It's a little bit more expensive that way, but at least they always have control of their own money.

posted by ValeriaV | A month ago